Lasithi & Neapoli Town in Lassithi
area , Crete
town is situated 15 km west of Agios Nikolaos, in the
lash basin of the Mirabello province. During the Venetian
occupation it consisted of two settlements which were referred
to as a unit dy the name " Kenourio Chorio" (New
Village). The settlements retained the name until 1868
when the governor of Lassithi, Kostis Adosides Pasha, transferred
there the seat of the country from Kastelli and renamed the two
settlements Neapolis (New Town).
Neapolis was the capital of
Lassithi Prefecture until 1904. That year Agios Nikolaos was
declared capital. Present day Neapolis is a beautiful town with
reasonably well- laid out streets, a nice public garden and picturesque
At one side of the main square stands the imposing cathedral
of the Virgin Mary.
The people of Neapolis pride themselves
on their intellectual tradition. Petros (Peter) Philargos
(of Philaretos) was born in the settlement of Kares in 1340.
settlement was destroyed by the Venetians some years later,
in 1347. P. Philargos was a man of letters and also a distinguished
speaker and theologian who became Pope of Rome in 1409-1410.
In addition, there are numerous churches dating from Venetian
times, as indicated by relief inscriptions on their entrance.
The church of Saint George is a point of historical
and Orthodox reference. The church operated a secret school during
of Turkish occupation. In 1770, during the revolution of Daskaloyannis,
Turks raided the church and slaughtered the congregation and
the priest during the evening prayer. Since then the church
of Saint George has been referred to as "Agios Yeorgios the
blood-stained". Under the leadership of Ioannis Halis, the
rebels besieged the Turkish mosque at Neapolis in November 1827
and burnt the Turks inside. The mosque was destroyed and in its
place was erected the church of the Virgin Mary. The town of
Neapolis features a significant museum of folk art with rich
exhibits, some of which were donated by Mrs. Chryssoula Xanthoudides